25 and fighting wrinkles.

I am fully aware that 25 years old is very young. But it is definitely older than I used to be, and therefore I am starting to see changes in my body. Some are good, some are not. Even my husband said today that he felt like he needed something for wrinkles forming around his eyes.

I wanted to find a simple eye cream that I could make with things I already had on hand, would really rejuvenate my skin, and hopefully prevent some aging that I already see. Since the skin around the eye is about 10 times thinner than the rest of the skin on our bodies, it needs a lot of extra care. That care should include moisturizers, vitamins, and herbal extracts (particularly essential oils).

Coconut oil is growing in popularity and one of the best things you can have in your home. Cooking, skin care, hair care – you can use it for everything! Coconut oil is great for dry and flaky skin and for preventing wrinkles and aging. It is also a good immune support, and since our skin is one our body’s first defense systems, why would I not use it on my skin?

Vitamin E oil is a strong antioxidant that prevents aging, skin cancer, and the appearance of skin spots and stretch marks.

Lavender is a soothing essential oil that has anti-inflammatory and antibiotic properties that are wonderful for all skin types!
Frankincense is one of the most sought after essential oils with extremely powerful properties. It also is antifungal, anti-inflammatory, astringent, and cellular protective.

Taking these 3 simple ingredients, I made a wonderful little eye cream that hopefully will have me singing its praises in another 25 years!

IMG_1520

IMG_1521
I melted my coconut oil in the microwave for just 20-25 seconds.

IMG_1523
I poked a hole in the Vitamin E capsule and squeezed out the oil.
Then I added in my Lavender and Frankincense.

IMG_1526
I put it in the refrigerator to get it back to a solid.

We’ve got eye cream!

Ingredients:
1/4 cup coconut oil
4 capsules of Vitamin E
5 drops of Lavender
2 drops of Frankincense

Process:
1. Melt the coconut oil for 20-25 seconds in the microwave.
2. Poke holes in the Vitamin E capsules and squeeze them into the melted oil.
3. Add in your lavender and frankincense.
4. Refrigerate your oil until it returns to a solid (about an hour).

*depending on the temperature, you may need to keep the coconut oil in the refrigerator to keep it a solid. as we move into winter, I am not worried about keeping it a solid!

3 thoughts on “25 and fighting wrinkles.

  1. Pingback: diy deodorant. | homemade health.

  2. Pingback: lotion. | homemade health.

  3. Pingback: sugar scrub. | homemade health.

Leave a Reply

