how do you like them apples, france?

here’s one of the best and simplest treats … homemade apple sauce.

basically these are apples cooked down. easy, healthy, and delicious!

last weekend we were in iowa with my husband’s family, celebrating grandma’s 90th birthday. my husband and I went over to her house to visit for a bit, and she was pawning off apples on me. she had a huge bag full of apples and told me to take half. the next morning she told my husband that I didn’t take enough! so I got ALL of the apples.

fine by me! apple sauce, apple crisp, apple pie – I can’t get enough of them!

here is simple little recipe I adapted from a pinterest post.

IMG_1527

I chopped up all of my apples the night before so they were ready to go in the morning! I left the skin on – I kind of like the texture (others might not), and there’s probably some extra fiber … right?

IMG_1528

when I came home from work, this was waiting for me! I took a whisk to mix them up a bit, but they were pretty much ready to go.

IMG_1529

I got about 5 1/2 cups out of this recipe. put in jars and ready to enjoy.
this applesauce is great by itself, but it might is probably very yummy with ice cream or as some other topping. hm … gives me some ideas for other uses … 🙂

ingredients:
10 apples
1/2 cup of water
1/4 cup of honey
1 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of vanilla

combine all of the ingredients in the crockpot and cook on low for 8-10 hours.

*for the title, watch from 1:49-2:09 of this video. actually, watch the whole video. it’s a flashback to my high school life.
http://www.ebaumsworld.com/video/watch/320224/

2 thoughts on “how do you like them apples, france?

  1. jill,
    this is wonderful; thanks for posting this! I just love applesauce, but the idea of watching a pot for hours sounds terrible and not worth it. It’s hard to argue with this recipe!

    can’t wait to make it this weekend!

Leave a Reply

