tis the season!

While many (probably most) disagree with me, once Halloween passes, I am ready for the Christmas season! It IS the most wonderful time of the year … why keep it contained to only three – four weeks of celebration??

And no, it does not negate celebrating Thanksgiving. I can still have my pumpkins and gourds out while listening to Christmas music. I can still burn my pumpkin candle while watching Love Actually – nothing wrong with some good smells and a handsome prime minister dancing to the Pointer Sisters!

In my combined celebration of seasons/holidays, I made this little number.

IMG_1530

IMG_1537 IMG_1538

I saw it on Etsy (via Pinterest, of course), but it was obviously something that could be made at home for $8, instead of bought for $38. http://www.pinterest.com/pin/195906652513888873/

We made a trip to Lowe’s, so I made a trip down to the lumber section. Bryan said that a 2×8 would be just right. I had them cut 2 pieces of 12in, 2 pieces of 10in, 2 piece of 8in. We already had some 4×4 at home to cut the middle piece.

I already had paint colors to use (or at least mix). So, I spent a few evenings watching Dexter (our new obsession), sanding the edges, and painting away.

I feel pretty good about how it turned out. And now my decor is ready for the next two months/seasons/holidays!

2 thoughts on “tis the season!

Leave a Reply

