nut butter.

It is a well-known fact that Hutchison women love peanut butter. Our staple for years was Trader Joe’s Crunchy Salted Peanut Butter. We may have been known to eat it by the spoonfuls. No shame.

Since I don’t live near a Trader Joe’s, I don’t get to enjoy this very often. I still love peanut butter, but I have a hard time buying any processed peanut butter. It still has its place (cookies or baking of any sort), but when I want a good spoonful, I need the real stuff.

With so much more understanding of various nuts and health benefits (healthy fats that aide heart health, cancer prevention, weight maintenance, etc.), people are really getting into various nut butters. Of course I hopped on board. However, spending $8 on a jar of almond butter is not my favorite idea. So I found quite a few recipes for various nut butters online. They all were pretty basic. Get a food processor, grind up the nuts.

As often as needed (about every other week – too often? :)), I get out whatever nuts I have on hand. This is usually a combination of almonds, walnuts, and/or pecans (I get these all in bulk from CostCo). I take 10 minutes, and I have enough nut butter to get me through two weeks! I probably eat way more than I should, but if it’s homemade, it’s better for you, right??

Homemade Nut Butter
about 3 cups of your choice: almonds, walnuts, pecans, cashews
(don’t worry about the balance of flavors – just figure out what you like best!)
about 1 teaspoon of olive oil
salt to taste

1. Pour all of your nuts in the food processor (I think a high-powered blender would work well too, but it does take some power)
IMG_1533

2. Grind them until they’re quite grainy but no longer mixing well.
(I forgot to take a picture of this)
3. Once they’re at a point where they need some help “moving” again, pour in just enough olive oil to get them going again.

4. Keep grinding. It’ll go from grainy to clumpy. Like this …
IMG_1534
(you may want to add a little more olive oil here, but you don’t need to – the natural-occurring oils in the nuts will continue to help smooth everything out!)

5. Keep grinding! It’ll smooth out. Just let it keep going until it looks as smooth as you’d like.
IMG_1535

6. Once you’re set, store in a cute mason jar and enjoy every. single. day. (Still…no shame.)
IMG_1536

2 thoughts on “nut butter.

  1. Pingback: quinoa energy bars. | homemade health.

  2. Pingback: nut butter banana muffins. | homemade health.

Leave a Reply

