squeaky clean.

Last Saturday was cleaning day.

Until this year I had a day off every week (being only 80% at my job), but this year I got moved to 100%. Yes, exciting. Yes, an answer to prayer. Yes, my days at work contain less stress.

But, truthfully, I miss my day off. I had long mornings with lots of coffee and reading, followed by a good run. And then I proceeded to clean my house. Once a week, every week. Floors were scrubbed, furniture was dusted, and my weekends were free to have fun.

Working full-time is great, but my house is no longer always clean. Dust piles up, grime gets in my grout, and I simply don’t care to spend my weekends scrubbing floors. So, I learned to let go a little bit. (I still can’t stand dishes in the sink!)

Now I need excuses to get my house good and clean. And hosting is the perfect excuse! This coming Friday is my sister’s baby shower, so, of course, everything needed to be deep cleaned (because I know everyone will check to make sure I took a toothbrush to the grout in my shower).

In an effort to live a little more naturally, I’ve been trying a few different concoctions of natural cleaners. Here’s an all-purpose cleaner that is simple, easy to make, and full of ingredients that I can feel good about.

Ingredients:
1. Water
2. Vinegar
-Vinegar is a FABULOUS cleaner. It is not toxic (like most cleaners are), it’s cheap, and it’s very effective.
-Read here for a great list of uses for vinegar: http://www.thenewhomemaker.com/vinegar)
3. OnGuard essential oil (from DoTerra)
-OnGuard is a blend of wild orange, cinnamon, clove, eucalyptus, and rosemary. It is anti-bacterial, anti-viral, a good immune support, and a great disinfectant. I’ve been taking a drop of OnGuard with honey as soon as I feel a little cold coming on (life of a teacher), and I’ve yet to get sick! Using this around my house, too, has been a great way to keep the surfaces that we use daily clean!

DIY All-Purpose Cleaner
Mix equal parts of water and vinegar with a few drops of essential oil and pour into a spray bottle.
I used one cup of water, one cup of vinegar, and about 10 drops of OnGuard.

IMG_1539 IMG_1540

Since OnGuard is an active ingredient, it shouldn’t sit by itself for too long. I try not to make more than will last me about a month. Every time I use it, I make sure to shake the bottle really well – oil and water tend to separate when sitting still 🙂

Hope you try this and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

