welcoming the little pumpkin!

This weekend I had the privilege of throwing a baby shower for my sister. It went off without a hitch, and I had so much fun planning for it!

She is due in February, so I wanted to do the shower before the holiday madness and January (aka, month #9). I also wanted to give her a simple night of celebrating and being with her girlfriends, trying not to make it super “baby shower-y.” I went with a simple “autumn” theme – easy to come up with food options and decor.

For decor, I had a simple layout of autumn “go-to’s” – squash, pumpkins, corn. I went with burlap and lace for a banner and votive candle holders. I added a pop of “pom-poms” for a little flare. And I had Lindsay’s friend put together some fall floral arrangements that looked amazing!

Image
Not a great picture, but just a little something-something.

Image
Some of the florals – beautiful!!

Image
Welcome munchkin!!

Image
Table arrangement (on our new table! :))

For food I obviously went with squash, pumpkin, and sweet potato flavors.
I found a recipe for pumpkin pretzel sticks. They’re soft pretzels, made with pumpkin (which you couldn’t really taste but was a nice substitute for any oils). I had a cheese dip and a salted caramel dip to go with. (Sorry – forgot to get a picture there!)

Image
I also made a butternut squash and apple bruschetta. Found: http://tri2cook.blogspot.com/2012/01/butternut-apple-bruschetta.htmlImage 

The real hit were these stuffed sweet potato skins. Found: http://pinchofyum.com/healthy-sweet-potato-skins
These are delicious and fairly easy to make (just need a little time to put together). And they’re still good the next day!

Image
For dessert I made Lindsay’s request – vanilla cupcakes with Nutella frosting. I found this recipe this past summer and made them for Bryan’s birthday, and we couldn’t get enough of them! Found: http://www.krissys-creations.com/2011/11/vanilla-bean-buttermilk-cupcakes-with.html

We opened presents sipping on some mulled wine and apple cider. Linds got some great, necessary things – a great way to start off all of her showers!

Image

Image

I just could not be more excited for this beautiful mama! My sister is one of my most favorite people in the whole world, and she is going to be such a WONDERFUL mama! I also can’t wait to have my own little munchkin just 4 blocks away. This baby is already so loved!

3 thoughts on “welcoming the little pumpkin!

  1. Pingback: niece or nephew? | homemade health.

  2. Pingback: shortbread with mascarpone whipped cream and salted caramel. | homemade health.

Leave a Reply

