routine and resolutions.

After the longest Christmas break ever, we got finally got back to school with little chaos! Despite being quite confused about what day of the week it was or what I usually do during 4th hour on Fridays (it took me 20 minutes to figure that out), I think students, teachers, and definitely parents were all ready to be back. We all need routine to some degree, and I thrive on a schedule. So as much as I love PJs until 11am, I think most of the time I prefer my 6am alarm and the day that follows.

While routine is usually where I am most comfortable, I eventually find myself annoyed by the mundane. The day-to-day, the commonplace, the norm … they wear on me. I find it hard to seek the Lord in the day-to-day. I lose focus of the important in the midst of the commonplace. The norm becomes a life of going through the motions but not really living. But it is in all of these seemingly unimportant and mundane moments where we are supposed to be walking where the Lord leads, going where He calls. The moments of great rejoicing or the moments of deep sorrow are wonderful in that they call us to the Lord in a hurry. But they are not the norm. And we are to walk with Him not only in the thanksgiving and desperation, but also in the beauty of the routine.

People near to me know that I love resolutions. I don’t really know why. I think because I love fresh starts. I love that the Lord’s mercies are new every morning, but those mercies feel “extra new” at the start of a new year, a new season, a new beginning. And while it is a cliché to set some big resolution, which usually ends up  lasting three weeks (a whole month if you’re really dedicated), who’s to say that those few weeks weren’t worth anything? At least there is effort.

Well, I try to set resolutions that will be lasting. I like to think I do a pretty good job – last year my resolution got me through September, and the year before I went the whole year.

My resolution for this year … memorize a passage of scripture every week. That is 52 passages. Some may be a few verses. I have a few chapters I’d like to memorize. And pastor-husband listed a bunch of Psalms I should memorize as well. My hope and prayer is that as I work to write the Word of the Lord on my heart, I will be able to hear His voice more readily in the routine. I want to truth to break in to my everyday, so that my commonplace is transformed into a life full of joy.

Since we have a great High Priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus Christ, the Son of God, let us hold fast to our confession. For we do not have a High Priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in the time of need. -Hebrews 4:14-16

For a tasty, routine meal that I put together often, here is my chopped salad. I think we “overdid” it a bit this summer, so it took a little break. But I made it again today and realized that this is one routine meal that I always enjoy. It is healthy and versatile and easy to tweak to cater to your own tastes.

Chopped Salad
1 head of romaine, chopped
1/2 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 can corn (use fresh in the summer!)
1 can artichoke hearts, chopped
1/4 cup feta cheese
Dressing of choice (see below)

Throw everything into one huge bowl. Top with dressing. Mix really well.

Options to add: cherry tomatoes, avocado, various beans, zucchini, anything else you like!

Dressing (this is a simple dressing I use the majority of the time)
approx. 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
approx. 1/4 olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

IMG_1621
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

