diy deodorant.

My coworkers looked at me with questioning looks.
My husband said I was officially getting weird.
I didn’t break a sweat!

As I explained to my coworkers, I’ve been trying to look at the beauty products that are a part of my routine and attempting to remove as many chemicals from them as possible. I made an eye cream that has actually become my nightly makeup remover (instead of those oily chemicals!). I’ve tried a few different facial scrubs, still working to find one that I like the best. And then I decided that I wanted to make my own deodorant.

Why deodorant? Well, I have always been pretty sweaty, and it is not easy to find a deodorant that keeps that under control. Also, I hate (hate, hate, hate) that when I’ve worn a shirt for the day, and I’ve done my very best to not spill on it, the underarms smell like day-old deodorant. And that’s gross. And, most importantly, chemicals. The main ingredient in deodorants is an aluminum-based compound. While there are not any conclusive studies linking deodorants with cancer, the idea of aluminum being absorbed in an area where there are so many lymph nodes simply makes me nervous. I have no science behind that – only my deductive reasoning, which is not saying a lot. 🙂 But, for what it’s worth …

For my own peace of mind, I’ve made the switch. I found quite a few “recipes,” and put together this one. Baking soda is the main ingredient. Baking soda is a wonderful moisture absorber, and it also neutralizes odor! It balances out pH, so any time is comes into contact with anything too acidic or too alkaline, its natural effect is to balance it. So beyond using it as a deodorant, there a TON of other uses (freshen your mouth, clean makeup brushes, washing dishes, cleaning coffee pots, cleaning surfaces, and on and on!).

In addition to baking soda, I used coconut oil and a few essential oils. Most people know that I love my essential oils! Most are antibacterial, antifungal, antiviral, anti-inflammatory, and can be used in so many ways! I use melaleuca (tea tree oil) daily on my skin to keep it clear. I use lavender regularly as a stress-reducer and an anti-inflammatory for my skin. And I use frankincense when I want to brighten my skin or as a mood balancer! When I know I’m going to have a busy or stressful day, I’ll put a drop on the back of my neck in the morning and have a sense of peace all day. It is also anti-cancer (there are some crazy stories), so I definitely included it in my deodorant.

I’ve used this deodorant for a week now, and I LOVE it. I have been completely dry, odor-free (if I smell like anything, it’s essential oils), and my shirts don’t have that terrible smell at the end of the day! It is definitely a little bit chalkier than regular deodorant (if you want, add a little more coconut oil or a little water), but for the most part, it is very comparable to any other deodorant!

DIY Deodorant

1/2 cup baking soda (if you have sensitive skin, try using 1/4 cup baking soda and 1/4 arrowroot)
5-6 T coconut oil, melted
10 drops lavender oil
10 drops melaleuca oil
5 drops frankincense oil

IMG_1618

Mix the baking soda and coconut oil together in a bowl. Mix in enough coconut oil until the mixture has a doughy texture, like this.

IMG_1617

Add in your essential oils. Mix well. Then spoon into an old deodorant container.

IMG_1619

(Shh… it’s not Secret :))

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “diy deodorant.

    • Becky – I buy mine online (Amazon). The brand I use is Doterra, and they’re not sold in health food stores. I like them because they’re safe to take internally and come super highly rated (though they can be more expensive), but there are still really great brands at health food stores, like Harvest Health.

  1. Pingback: I Enjoy Making Healthy Changes and Money Saving Ideas and So Who Wouldn’t | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

  2. Pingback: lotion. | homemade health.

Leave a Reply

