garbanzo bean brownies.

I had a minor panic attack this past week, looking at my calendar. I was trying to set a date for a work meeting, and I was overwhelmed at how quickly my time was filled up, and, consequently, how quickly my life was moving. (deep breath)

I remembered that at the beginning of the year (4 weeks ago), I was praying for a peaceful heart, to find joy in the mundane and the routine. And I realized I have. My commitment to memorizing Scripture has the kept the Word on my mind and heart. And in a season of prayer and seeking, the Lord has been faithful to reassure me of HIS commitment TO me. That He will never leave nor forsake me. That I will know that He is the faithful God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him. There’s so much joy in that knowledge. (panic attack done)

For my Sunday baking, I made some brownies that were a staple in college. My friends and I discovered this cleaner version of brownies, and we went to town on these bad boys! I haven’t made them for years, but here they are again, delicious as ever!

Garbanzo Bean Brownies
adapted from: http://honestcooking.com/garbanzo-bean-brownies/

IMG_1637

Ingredients:
1 1/4 cup of bittersweet chocolate chips
1 can garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
2 eggs
1/4 t cinnamon
2 T cocoa powder
1 T coconut oil
2 t vanilla extract
1/4 agave nectar
1/2 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
Powdered sugar for garnish, optional

IMG_1638

1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees
2. Melt the chocolate chips – either in the microwave or on the stovetop. Be careful not to burn the chocolate.
3. Add all the ingredients (except the chocolate) to a food processor or blender. Blend until completely smooth.
4. Add the melted chocolate and blend until combined.
5. Pour the batter into an 8×8 pan, lined with parchment paper or sprayed with olive oil. The batter will be very thick and heavy. Smooth it out as much as possible (it won’t rise or spread out much, so it will look however smooth you make it :))
6. Bake for 28-30 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_1639

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

