almond flour cookies.

One of my goals for the month of March is to rule out white flours and white sugars from my diet. I don’t know if I will make it the whole month, considering we have lots of guests in and out of town this month, baby showers to go home to, and other special occasions. However, it is a goal to aim towards. This recipe is one way I can reach that goal and not sacrifice my sweet tooth!

IMG_1663

Now that I’ve made almond milk and almond flour, I’m ready for some cookies to enjoy with a glass of my almond milk, of course!

I totally love this blog – Minimalist Baker. It is full of simple, clean, and creative recipes – right up my alley! One of the first recipes I used from them was this almond cookie recipe. It is the perfect size for the flour I get after making milk, it is clean, and it is a guilt-free sweet treat.

Almond Chocolate-Chip Cookies
Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups almond flour
1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup agave nectar
1 egg
3 Tbsp coconut oil, melted
1 tsp vanilla extract

1. In a large mixing bowl, stir together almond flour, dark chocolate chips, coconut, baking powder, and salt.
2. In a separate bowl, beat egg until uniform in color and doubled in volume.
3. Whisk in the coconut oil, agave nectar, and vanilla, then add to dry ingredients and mix until just combined.
4. Chill in the fridge for at least 30 minutes or even overnight.
5. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
6. Shape dough into 1-inch balls, place on baking sheet with 1-1/2 inch space in between each. Press down slightly to flatten a bit.
7. Bake until edges begin to brown, 7-10 minutes.
8. Remove from oven and let cool before serving.

IMG_1665

Enjoy!

Adapted from: http://minimalistbaker.com/almond-meal-cookies-with-chocolate-chips-and-coconut/

Leave a Reply

