molasses cookies.

After a very bleak week of Michigan gray and summer refusing to come, we were in need of cookies around here.

Molasses cookies are those cookies that I don’t think to make or even eat, but when I have them, I LOVE them. With the right of amount of spice, they’re reminiscent of fall but perfect at any time of year. I must give a shout out to my brother’s bakery – Madison Sourdough Company – for having the best molasses cookies. However, in between my trips to Wisconsin to visit, these will do juuuuust fine.

IMG_1678

This recipe was found in my magazine from Penzey’s Spices. My mom is starting to get Bryan and I hooked on these delicious and legit spices. Their vietnamese cinnamon spice is heavenly.

 

IMG_1680

Molasses Cookies

Ingredients:
3/4 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup molasses
1 egg
1 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
1 t cinnamon
1/2 t ground cloves
1 t powdered ginger
2 cups flour
1/4 cup extra sugar, for rolling

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
1. Cream the butter and sugar together.
2. Add in the molasses and egg until fully mixed.
3. Mix in the baking soda, salt, and spices.
4. Mix in the flour, 1 cup at a time, until fully mixed. The dough will be sticky, so remember to scrape down the sides of the bowl.
5. Roll the dough into 1″ balls. Roll the dough balls in the sugar and place about 2″ apart on lightly greased cookie sheets (they will spread out).
6. Bake for 8-10 minutes. I bake them for 8-9, until the sides just start to firm up, so they remain nice and chewy.

IMG_1683

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

