croutons.

IMG_1684 IMG_1685

One of my brothers is a baker in Madison, Wisconsin. His bakery, Madison Sourdough Company, is not only my favorite because my brother it belongs to my brother. If it was located in Grand Rapids (or if I was located in Madison), I would gain about 10 lbs. far too quickly. Their fresh baked bread is a little slice of home. The french toast is simply food-gasmic. And their pastries are beyond brag-worthy.

Whenever I have the chance, I bring home a fresh loaf of MSCo. bread. However, I usually can’t get through it before it turns. It is good to freeze, but this time I decided to make some croutons!

IMG_1686

After slicing the bread into some nice little cubes, all I did was coat them in some butter, garlic, salt, and pepper, and toast them for 30 minutes! Easy as pie!

IMG_1689

 

Homemade Croutons
Ingredients:
1/2 loaf of bread (starting to get a little old)
4 T butter, melted
garlic powder
salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 300 degrees
1. Slice bread into cubes
2. Toss in butter and spices
3. Spread bread cubes on a cookie sheet
4. Bake for about 30 minutes, or until crispy or lightly browned. Stir every 10-15 minutes. Store in an airtight container.
5. Enjoy on top of a caesar salad!

IMG_1692

Enjoy!

One thought on “croutons.

  1. Thanks, Jill! I’ll make sure Drew sees this one 🙂 Yeah, these are a staple in our house, especially during the summer! Sometimes he even does them on the grill.

Leave a Reply

