knit maxi skirt.

It’s summer! It’s maxi skirt season. But, really, isn’t every season maxi skirt season?? Summer also means time to sew! Why not sew some maxi skirts! I found this great little tutorial from Cotton and Curls – she has a TON of sewing tutorials if you’re interested – and I ran with it. Starting with a few maxi skirts, I figured out making a dress and a shorter, lace skirt. It’s a great place to start if you want to sew some things for yourself.
IMG_1480

Here’s an old shot of my first dress, made starting with this tutorial and going from there. Today I put together some process pictures of my newest skirt.

Needed:
2 yds. fabric – Please note: when you are picking out fabric, make sure it is a wide-knit cotton. It should have a decent amount of stretch to it – jersey cotton is a perfect fabric!
3/4″ or 1″ elastic
scissors
thread to match your fabric

IMG_1715

1. Take some measurements…
-Waist: This can be wherever you want the skirt to sit. I like my skirts to be a little higher waisted, so I typically measure the smallest part of my waist. If you want your skirt to sit lower, that is fine! -Length: You should have enough fabric, but I always like to know how far down I want it to be. If you are making a shorter skirt, make sure you get a good measure here. IMG_1716
2. Fold your fabric in half. Take half the measure of your waist and center it at the top of your fabric. Following the diagram below, you will cut a big triangle with a flat top (being the top/your waist). Cut the waist down 2-3 in. to leave room to sew in the elastic. From there, cut at an angle down to the bottom. (This part is easiest to see on the diagram below! :)) IMG_1717
3. Put the right sides of your fabric together (“right side” means the side you want showing). Pin all the way up both sides of the skirt.
IMG_1718  

4. Sew up both sides of the skirt.
IMG_1719

5. Measure your elastic. I usually do this just by wrapping it around my waist and cutting. IMG_1722

6. Sew your elastic along the top of your skirt. Fold down and sew again. IMG_1723

7. Hem up the bottom of your skirt where you want it to lie.
IMG_1725  IMG_1726 

And you’re done! Way to go!! Enjoy 🙂

alinechart2.jpg (558×920) (from http://www.cottonandcurls.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/alinechart2.jpg)

One thought on “knit maxi skirt.

Leave a Reply

