sugar scrub.

I have lately taken a simpler approach to facial care.

Each night I use my coconut oil mix to remove makeup, followed by a hot towel.

For spots that I’d like gone, I use a drop of melaleuca (tea tree oil).

For a cleanser in the shower, I use a squirt of my body wash.

But I needed a little exfoliant. Sugar scrub to the rescue!

I used an extremely simple recipe … brown sugar and raw honey. Brown sugar is a little softer than white, so that was a better option for me. Raw honey has some amazing properties to it that made me feel good about using it on my skin. Raw honey, when compared to pasteurized honey, has not been heated and processed, so it retains its bee pollen and all that makes it amazing. Similar to many essential oils, it has anti-viral, anti-bacterial, and anti-fungal properties. It is an antioxidant and promotes skin healing. There are so many uses for raw honey, both when used on skin and taken internally. Read about them! 🙂

For my sugar scrub, I used a 1:1 ratio, adding an extra scoop of sugar for the extra “grit” that I wanted. Mixing the ingredients right in my mason jar, this took me all of 3 minutes!

IMG_1747

Brown Sugar & Honey Scrub
1/4 cup + 1 T of brown sugar (can use raw sugar if you’d like)
1/4 cup raw honey

Combine and use on your face or body!

Enjoy!

*note: the ingredients will separate, so you’ll need to quickly mix them before using

Leave a Reply

