a week without [part two].

“Don’t underestimate the value of Doing Nothing, of just going along, listening to all the things you can’t hear, and not bothering.”
― A.A. Milne

This is really a gift that I feel has been stolen by technology, particularly smartphones, these days. And it’s one that I feel like I can reclaim a little bit.

It has now definitely been more than “a week without” – it’s been almost 3 weeks! But it took one week without for me to sober up, and I’ve been on a roll since then. Life is normal. Pulling out my flip phone is no longer dramatic. Shame is gone, and little bit of pride has even crept in.

There are certain conveniences that I miss. I used the Weather app a lot before, I occasionally need directions, I’d like to see if a store is open or closed, etc. But it is not too hard to be a bit more planned, look things up before I go run errands, or make a phone call if I need something.

Strangely, the thing I was most sad to give up – Instagram – is no longer on my radar. When I sneak a peak at my husband’s phone, I scroll through quickly, finding myself oddly detached. But that is just what I wanted – to be delightfully detached.

The big things I hoped for are still coming. There are indefinitely more changes needed in my life until the things that hinder me are thrown off. But there are some gifts that I’ve been able to experience through this one change, and one of these is the gift of Doing Nothing. Of not feeling so connected to everyone and everything at all times. Of letting my mind wander. Of just being. It is truly a gift that I’m thankful for. Because it is in those quiet moments where One can whisper calmness and peace into the chaos. And if all that can come from one small change, I can safely say I don’t have a need to trade it up for a few small conveniences.

Leave a Reply

