chocolate avocado pudding with cashew cream.

I’ve been on hiatus as we’ve been finally settling into our new home! I can’t wait to show off a few things I’ve made (particularly for babe’s room), but since the house still looks a bit like a tornado hit it, I decided to share tonight’s dessert.

A few years back, a dear friend and mentor (who has helped open my eyes to the world of natural health and whole food diets) had me over for lunch. (Let’s be honest … I was in the habit of just stopping in on a whim, and she always had food ready for me. The image of hospitality, she is.) She asked if I wanted some “pudding.” Obviously I said, “Yes.” What I got was mind-blowing.

IMG_0866

How could avocados and cashews taste so indulgent?

Since it’s summer and I’m pregnant, I want sweets, but I also don’t want to go overboard (my daily scoop of ice cream is probably not the best option). Looking for a healthful dessert, I looked through various recipes to see how I could replicate this delicious treat from my past. This one was the simplest and after a few adjustments, I’ve got my measurements down pat.

IMG_0877

This is such a simple recipe, and as long as you’ve got your cashews and dates soaked long enough in advance, it should only take you about 15 minutes (that might even include getting your dishes washed!).

IMG_0879

Don’t be afraid. The sum is definitely greater than the sum of its parts here.

Chocolate Avocado Pudding
INGREDIENTS:
– 3/4 cup Mashed Avocado
– 1/4 cup + 2 T Maple Syrup
– 1/4 cup Pitted Medjool Dates, soaked overnight (or for a few hours)
– 2 T + 1/2 tbs Cocoa Powder
– 1/4 cup Water

1. Process dates, maple syrup, and vanilla (1/4 tsp) in food processor until smooth
2. Add avocado and cocoa powder and process until creamy
3. Occasionally scrape down sides with a spatula and add water to achieve desired consistency (you will likely not use all the water).

Cashew Cream
INGREDIENTS:
– 1 cup Raw Cashews, soaked overnight (or for at least 4-6 hours)
– 3-5 Dates, soaked overnight
– 1 tsp Vanilla
– Sea Salt
– Cream as needed (can be coconut, to keep this a vegan treat)

Drain cashews and blend with other ingredients in a high powered blender or food processor. Add cream to achieve desired consistency.

IMG_0887

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

