nut butter banana muffins.

Well, the waiting game is on. The due date has come and gone, and babe is still snug as a bug in my tummy.

I’m working hard to fill my time. For the next week, our schedule is pretty much cleared, so every day is a question of “What will I do with myself today?” Today, I listened to my wise sissy and did some baking. These muffins are a bit too yummy to store all of them for post-baby breakfasts, so I might just need to bake some more tomorrow and freeze those!

I adapted this recipe for a bit healthier and heartier version of a muffin that everyone loves. You can’t find too many people who don’t enjoy bananas and peanut butter. Put those flavors in a muffin and you’ve got some happy eaters!

In this recipe I used spelt flour instead of all-purpose flour. My friend Tina of Voeden was the first person who I heard of spelt flour from, and I love it. Spelt is related to wheat, and it bakes pretty similarly, so it is very easy to substitute in recipes. However, spelt contains a lot more nutrients and is much easier on the digestive system.

I also traded out the brown sugar for honey – an easy 1-to-1 swap. Plus getting local honey into my treats gives me the sweet I love but also the added benefits of local honey: more nutrients and immune system boosters.

These muffins will be perfect for mornings when I need an easy but filling breakfast. But I will also be enjoying just a few before babe comes!  IMG_1109

Nut Butter Banana Muffins
adapted from: food.com

Ingredients:
2 cups spelt flour
1 T baking powder
1/2 t salt
2 ripe bananas, mashed
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup nut butter (I used peanut butter this time, but almond butter would be perfect too)
3/4 milk (any kind will do)
2 T coconut oil, melted

Optional add-in’s:
chocolate chips
blueberries
walnuts
dried fruits

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees, and then bring it down to 375 degrees (this will help the muffins get that nice, rounded top).
  2. Grease a muffin tin.
  3. Whisk flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl and set aside.
  4. Whisk bananas, eggs, honey, nut butter, milk, and coconut oil in a medium bowl until well-combined.
  5. Fold the dry mixture into the wet ingredients. Mix until just combined.
  6. Fill your muffin tins almost to the top.
  7. Bake your muffins in the preheated oven for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_1106

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

